Skip to content

Welcome to Preaching GENESIS!

June 26, 2009

The intention of this blog is to help anyone who desires to preach and/or to teach from the book of Genesis.  The site is especially intended for people who can read English, but do not have access to some of the best resources on Genesis available in English.

I  hope that other preachers and teachers will contribute to this site with additional resources: illustrations, notes, etc.

I am building this site as one who has been preaching from Genesis for a few years (I am currently in Genesis 21) and I have accumulated a series of notes in English. These notes will be posted by chapter.  I try in my notes to note where they are coming from, but this is not always done  consistently.

I rarely have the time to write the introduction and conclusion of my sermons (when I can do this I feel  really happy about it), and I almost never write the whole sermon.  I usually write the outline (though this does not appear in the notes) on Sunday mornings.

My preaching aims to be Christ-centered and I highly appreciate Sidney Greydanus’ new book: Preaching Christ from Genesis. One problem with this book is that it covers only a few passages from Genesis. (I hope to post a few more resources for Christ-centered preaching.  For a very recent book which exemplifies this approach and contains 3 sermons on Genesis, see Heralds of the King).

I usually use (and recommend) the following resources for preaching from Genesis:

Gordon Wenham’s commentary in the Word series.

Allen P. Ross – Creation and Blessing.

The Church fathers as found in the IVP Ancient Christian Commentary on Scriptures.

The notes of Matthew Henry, John Calvin, and Arthur Pink – all available online.

I sometimes use the writings of James Montgomery Boice, Nahum Sarna, Ken Matthews, John Walton, and Bruce Waltke.

The most useful sermons (see http://www.sermonaudio.com) for me are those of Joel Beeke, and more recently those of Alan Cairns.  I sometimes listen to their sermons before my final sermon preparation and notes from their messages may appear in my notes.


Soli Deo Gloria!

No comments yet

Leave a comment